Three international journalists barred from entering Hong Kong

The Hong Kong government banned the entry of three international journalists, namely two Japanese journalists, Michiko Kiseki and Yoshiaki Ogawa, and American journalist Matthew Connors. All three reporters covered the pro-democracy demonstrations in 2019. In the past few months, three people tried to enter Hong Kong, but were rejected by the authorities and detained for questioning.
Michiko Kiseki was detained by the police overnight when entering Hong Kong on December 30, 2022, and was eventually banned from entering. Ogawa Ogawa was also detained upon entry on June 29 this year and was deported to Japan after one night. As for Matthew Connors, he was refused entry to Hong Kong on the 15th of last month. He had already been deported by the Immigration Department in January 2020.
Cédric Alviani, RSF Asia-Pacific Bureau Director, was shocked by the Hong Kong government’s actions. He pointed out that this practice is a common method used by the Chinese regime to punish critical journalists, and it has now spread to Hong Kong. The organization urges the democratic government to put pressure on the Hong Kong authorities to implement the Fund Law and restore press freedom.
Joseph Ngan, chairman of the Hong Kong Overseas Media Association, said, “Hong Kong’s refusal to allow international media reporters to enter is shocking and worrying. Apparently some officials believed that the international media had criticized the current situation in Hong Kong and took retaliatory measures. Hong Kong’s status as an international financial center is based on Free information, we call on the government to respect press and information freedom and restore the free entry and exit rights of international media reporters.”